The Nordic Council’s Literature Prize, 2005, for Skugga-Baldur.


  • From the Mouth of the Whale (Rökkurbýsnir), shortlisted for the 2012
    Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.
  • The Blue Fox (Skugga-Baldur), nominated for the 2011
    Jan Michalski Prize for Literature.
  • The Blue Fox (Skugga-Baldur), longlisted for the 2009
    Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.
  • Rökkurbýsnir (From the Mouth of the Whale) nominated for the 2008
    Icelandic Literary Prize.
  • söngur steinsafnarans (the song of the stone collector) nominated for the 2007
    Icelandic Literary Prize.
  • The Icelandic Bookseller’s Prize for the Novel of the Year, 2005, for Argóarflísin.
  • The DV Newspaper Culture Prize / Literature, 2002, for Með titrandi tár.
  • The Icelandic Broadcasting Service Writers Fund, 1998,
    for contribution to Icelandic literature.
  • The DV Newspaper Culture Prize / Literature, 1995, for Augu þín sáu mig.



  • Augu þín sáu mig (Made in Secret), the radio adaption by Bjarni Jónsson with soundtrack by múm, nominated for the Prix Europa, 2009
  • Skuggaleikur (Shadow Play), an opera by Karólína Eiríksdóttir with libretto by Sjón, based on the short story Skyggen (the Shadow) by H. C. Andersen, nominated for the Nordic Council Music Prize, 2008
  • Nominated for an Oscar, an Academy Award, in the category Best Original Song for the song I’ve Seen It All from the film Dancer in the Dark, 2000
  • Nominated for a Golden Globe Award for the song I’ve Seen It All from
    the film Dancer in the Dark, 2001